Loading... Please wait...

Subscribe- 10% off coupon

Keyword Cloud

The eight auspicious buddhist symbol

Buddhist art frequently makes use of a particular set of eight auspicious symbols, ashtamangala, in household and public art. Buddhist figures and sacred objects leaned towards esoteric and symbolic meaning. Many images also function as mandalas.


These symbols are:


1. First of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Shree Barsa – Endless knot: representing eternal harmony.

The ShreeBarsha or NagPass or Endless Knot is a geometric diagram which symbolises the nature of reality where everything is interrelated and only exists as part of a web of karma and its effect. Having no beginning or end, it also represents the infinite.


 2.     Second of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Kamal (Pundarika) – Lotus flower: representing purity and enlightenment.

The Kamal or Lotus is a very important symbol in India and of Buddhism. It refers to the complete purification of body, speech and mind, and the blossoming of wholesome deeds in liberation. The lotus refers to many aspects of the path.


 3.     Third of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Dhoja –Victory Banner: representing a victorious battle.

The Dhoja or Victory Banner symbolises the victory of the Buddha's teachings over death, ignorance, disharmony and all the negativities of this world, and victory over. The roofs of Tibetan monasteries are often decorated with victory banners.



 4.     Fourth of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Dharma Chakra – Wheel of Enlightenment: representing knowledge.

The Dharma-Wheel (Dharma chakra); it is said that after Siddharta Gautama achieved enlightenment, Brahma came to him, offered a Dharma-Wheel and requested the Buddha to teach. It represents the Buddhist teachings.


 5.     Fifth of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Kalash – Treasure Vase: representing inexhaustible treasure and wealth.

The Kalash or Treasure Vase; is a sign of the inexhaustible riches available in the Buddhist teachings, but also symbolises long life, wealth, prosperity and all the benefits of this world.



 6.     Sixth of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Mastya – Golden Fish Pair: representing conjugal happiness and freedom.

The Matsya or Golden Fish; were originally symbolic of the rivers Ganges and Yamuna, but came to represent good fortune in general. It also symbolises that living beings who practice the dharma need have no fear to drown in the ocean of suffering.



7.     Seventh of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Chhatra –Parasol:  representing the crown, and protection from the elements.

The Umbrella or Parasol (Chhatra) embodies notions of wealth or royalty, for one had to be rich enough to possess such an item, and further, to have someone carry it. It points to the "royal ease" and power experienced in the Buddhist life of detachment.


8.     Eighth of eight Buddhist auspicious symbols: Sankha – Conch Shell: representing the thoughts of the Buddha.

The Conch Shell or Sankha, which is also used as a horn, symbolises the deep, far reaching and melodious sound of the teachings, which is suitable for all disciples at it awakens them from the slumber of ignorance to accomplish all beings' welfare.

All prices are in USD Copyright 2018 Gifts From Nepal. Sitemap |

Subscribe all latest updates via Facebook